Another Weak Moment…

20170528_090543.jpgSo based on these posts, you guys are probably going to think all I do is cheat on my diet and compensate, but I swear that’s not what it is. I just know myself and when I deprive myself, somewhere down the line I go on a binge and lose it all. I’m determined not to do that and I’m also determined to allow myself some of my favorite pleasures from time to time.

My parents went to San Francisco for the last couple of days and made a special stop at Chinatown. There’s a bakery there called Eastern Bakery that sells a Chinese pastry called moon cake and they brought me home a box. After trying to explain it to my friend, I realized I can’t really explain it at all. It’s filled with lotus seed paste and is very sweet and yummy, but also high in all the things that you really shouldn’t be consuming when you’re dieting. Some moon cakes also have some sort of egg yolk in them, but that’s not my cup of tea. Good thing, those are even worse for you.

The good news is that I didn’t eat a whole one, and I definitely watched my intake throughout the day in preparation. For dinner, I tried another Skinnytaste recipe. I am in search of recipes that are good for me, but also things my daughters (1 & almost 4) will eat. The one year old can be a little picky when it comes to texture, so I have to play my cards right. Tonight I made Spaghetti Squash with Meat Ragu. I still made the girls something different because I started dinner a lot later than originally planned and it took a little over an hour with prep included, but I really think they’d like it.

IMG_20170527_214113_787

I actually substituted lean ground turkey for the lean ground beef. I honestly don’t know how it affected the calorie and nutrient intake, but it didn’t affect the flavor of the sauce. The dude really enjoyed the sauce as well. The only thing is that I wouldn’t have minded a bit more meat in my sauce especially since this is such a low calorie meal. Satisfying nonetheless.

I’ve had spaghetti squash once before. There are many ways to cook it, it seems. Slow cooker, microwave, oven and in the oven, you can roast it whole or cut it in half and roast it. The first time I made it, I roasted it in the oven whole and then cut it, but this time I cut it then roasted it. There is definitely a difference. For one, it’s easier to cut once cooked. Luckily, I kept all of my fingers. The texture is also different. I recall the one I roasted whole to be pretty watery/mushy. This one was more “al dente” if you will. Not sure which one I prefer, but it was delicious. I’ll have to try the microwave method one of these times. It’s supposed to take less than 10 minutes and if you’re a parent like me, the extra 50 minutes can be dire haha.

Leave a Reply

