Totino’s Pizza Rolls & Shrimp Scampi Zoodles

IMG_20170526_191830_224

When I started this healthy eating and exercising deal, I only ate those prepackaged salads that run anywhere from 200 calories to 270 for lunch and dinner. It was easy to see how many calories I was consuming, but I didn’t realize how much sodium was in them. I turned in the salads for canned chunk light tuna mixed with a small bit a light mayo and mustard. Again, it was easy to see how many calories I was consuming, and while the canned tuna isn’t bad (in my opinion), there was no way I’d be able to keep to a diet of solely canned tuna.

So off to Google I went in search for healthier recipes around 300 calories each. I found quite a few, but then I also remembered a site I had found several years ago when I last attempted weight loss. Skinnytaste.com is full of healthy recipes and with each recipe, Gina included the nutritional facts! SCORE! It helps me know how many calories I am consuming without having to guess or estimate, which is exactly what I need to stay on track with my diet.

The last time I “dieted” it maybe lasted one week, so I only tried one recipe, but I remember it was good. Tonight, I tried another: Shrimp Scampi Zoodles for Two! I love shrimp scampi! The buttery, garlicky goodness…mmmmm. I was a skeptical of what how close this would taste to normal shrimp scampi when I saw that it only included half a tablespoon of UNsalted butter. I mean, I’m the girl who used to use two tablespoons of butter on a single piece of toast.  But…it was delicious and even the dude (aka my husband) enjoyed it. At only 161 calories per serving, it maintained the buttery, garlicky flavor that I love and the zoodles (zucchini noodles for those not familiar) were actually really good. They added this crunch of texture that worked for me and I didn’t miss the real pasta aspect at all which, believe me, says a lot. I will say that I omitted the parsley because I didn’t have any and also the red pepper flakes because I’m a wimp when it comes to heat. The dude loves spicy stuff and didn’t seem to care that there wasn’t any.

I really wish I would have just eaten it all on my own, but earlier today, I indulged and had a serving of Totino’s Pepperoni Pizza Rolls so I made up for it with this meal. Man, just looking at this picture makes me hungry for more. Lunch tomorrow, maybe?

Leave a Reply

